Our country’s bowling development back on track

After all the hoohah surrounding the dropping of certain sports from the MSSM calender, the Malaysian government relented and did an about-turn. Read all about it here.

Courtesy of RAJES PAUL-Star Sports

11 sports reinstated into MSSM calendar

PETALING JAYA: The Government’s decision to re-instate 11 sports into the National Schools (MSSM) calendar has received the thumbs-up from former National Sports Council (NSC) director general Datuk Wira Mazlan Ahmad.

Mazlan was happy that MSSM would be able to carry on with their plans to organise 24 sports at the national level as usual.

Yesterday, commonsense prevailed when Education Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced that funds would be provided for the MSSM to run all the 24 sports.

The 11 sports initially affected by the ministry’s decision to slash funding from RM6mil to RM1.5mil were squash, bowling, archery, table tennis, rugby, cricket, sailing, softball, handball, cross country and chess.

Those maintained in the programme were gymnastics (artistic and rhythmic), golf, swimming, athletics, badminton, netball, basketball, volleyball, sepak takraw, football, tennis and hockey.

The Education Ministry has now set aside a whopping RM89mil for both sports and co-curriculum events in the schools.

The decision also shows the Education Ministry’s seriousness in working with the Sports Ministry to give emphasis to grassroots development.

Mazlan said the decision should put an end to the growing frustration and disappointment among sports officials, parents and athletes over the huge budget slash that saw the MSSM dropping 11 sports from its calendar earlier this year.

“It is a good decision by the Minister to bring back the sports into the MSSM calendar. It should make everyone happy,” said Mazlan, who was once an advisor to the schools sports council.

Mazlan hoped that the schools and National Sports Associations (NSAs) would get back to strengthening the grassroots level.

“They should now take advantage of the situation and work on grooming the best athletes for the National Schools. The focus should be on promoting the sports culture among the young and identifying the talents for the future,” he added.

Now let’s get back to developing our pool of talent to be world class bowlers.


, , , ,

No Comments

Aaron Kong is Malaysian Men’s National Champion 2010

 Two new National Champions have emerged from the recent 34th Malaysian National Bowling Championships…one each in the Men’s and Ladies’ Divisions. For Aaron Kong who hails from Penang, it has been a long overdue win as he has not won a title since winning the Youth Masters Gold medal at the 2008 World Youth Championship held in Orlando, USA.

The 24-yr old bowler has had a rather challenging year after trying to adapt to a new bowling style without much success. By clinching his first National Closed title, he has laid to rest his jinx of finishing in second position at numerous tournaments.

On Saturday, Aaron, who trailed in sixth position after a ten-game Masters Finals roll off, managed to defeat third seed, World Cup representative and former National Champion, Zulmazran Zulkifli with a 2-0 win at the quarter finals round (214-204,269-180). He went on to demolish top seed, two-times National Champion Adrian Ang 2-0 in the semi finals (216-185,237-227) to set up a challenge with Defending Champion, Muhd Shafiq Ridhwan. Nothing was going to stop him from claiming his first National Championship title. He breezed through his challenge with Shafiq with wins of 204-163 and 202-182 in the best of three games format. Aaron pocketed RM 7000 for his win.

National Champions 2010

In the Ladies’ Division, National backup squad member Sin Li Jane had a more challenging path to the top. She had trailed top seed and former National Champion Sharon Koh by only nine pins after a ten-game Masters Finals to finish second on the table. In the quarter finals, she defeated Penang Pesta 2009 Champion Zatil Iman in straight sets of 185-162,195-180 wins to proceed to the semi finals against fifth seed and former National Champion Wendy Chai. She rolled games of 236-214-237 to defeat Wendy who only managed games of 203-222-189 for a 2-1 win over Wendy.

In the Grand Finals round, Li Jane also was stretched to a three-game decider with sixth seed Fatin Syazliana, also a member of the National backup squad. Fatin opened with a 246-218 win over Li Jane, who came back with a 229-207 win over Fatin in the second game. In the final decider, Li Jane stormed home with a 215-175 win to claim her first National Closed Championship title. Li Jane won herself RM3000 prize money.

18-yrs old Li Jane, from Perak, has had some time off to prepare for her SPM exams. She’s happy to have done well this time round as she did not fare well at the recent All Stars and Penang Pesta. Li Jane is hoping that this will be the start of better performances in the year ahead.

Men’s Open final results:

CHAMPION: Aaron Kong
2. Muhd Shafiq Ridhwan
3. Adrian Ang
4. Kelvin Keong
5. Zulmazran Zulkifli
6. Mohd Zaim
7. Muhd Nur Aiman
8. Kang Bo Long

Ladies’ Open final results:

2. Fatin Syazliana
3. Sharon Koh
4. Wendy Chai
5. Nur Syakirah Yeoh
6. Zandra Aziela
7. Zatil Iman
8. Yap Wi Yin

For more detailed scores, visit MTBC official website.

Have a great bowling year ahead.




, , , ,

No Comments

Siti Safiyah is first All Stars Classic Champion

The inaugural All Stars Classic 2009 commenced a day after the Milo Junior All Stars ended. Top three winners from both the Boys and Girls Open Divisions were granted automatic entry into the Classic Finals roll off.

The tournament saw many bowlers who were overaged for the Junior All Stars making attempts at qualifying to make the cut for the top 48. Youths who were not successful at the Juniors Finals also took a final shot at the RM30,000 Champion prize money on offer.

After six games, the field was cut to 24 bowlers who had to bowl another six games to qualify for the top 6 stepladder playoff.

The All Stars Classic is a handicapped tournament. Men Open-0; Ladies Open-8; Men Graded-5 pins. The top 6 finalists bowl on scratch scores to determine the Champion.

Results Top 24-Masters

1. Siti Safiyah (Malaysia)

2. Tannya Roumimper (Indonesia)

3. Jeon Eun Hee (Korea)

4. Aloysius Goh (Singapore)

5. Kang Bo Long (Malaysia)

6. Kim Ju Young (Korea)

In the first stepladder match between bowlers 4,5,6, Kang Bo Long triumphed on 209 to earn the right to play bowlers 2 and 3. Bo Long’s climb was halted when Jeon Eun Hee shot a 265 game to proceed to play topseed Siti Safiyah of Malaysia.

In the finals, Eun Hee continued her fine run with another high game of 255-187 win against Siti Safiyah, forcing a sudden death game shootout between the two. This time Siti was able to get her act together when Malaysia’s Head coach, Holloway Cheah was seen asking her to make changes. She fired a 215-180 win to lay claim to the first All Stars Classic 2009 title.

Final Results

Champion – Siti Safiyah

2. Jeon Eun Hee

3. Kang Bo Long

4. Tannya Roumimper

5. Aloysius Goh

6. Kim Ju Young

After a failure to add another win to her two previous ones (2004/2006) at the Junior All Stars, Siti Safiyah, a member of Malaysia’s Elite Squad, won some consolation with her RM30,000 pocket money. The 19-yr old bowler was the country’s representative at the 45th QubicaAMF World Cup held in Malaysia where she finished third.

Jeon Eun Hee who had finished tenth in the Junior All Stars settled for RM15,000. Kang Bo Long earned himself a RM10,000 Christmas present. Tannya pocketed RM7,000. Aloysius won himself RM5,000 and Kim pocketed RM3,000 for his sixth overall position.

Stay tuned for the 37th Penang Pesta results.



, , ,

No Comments