Posts Tagged 34th Malaysian National Bowling Championships

Aaron Kong is Malaysian Men’s National Champion 2010

 Two new National Champions have emerged from the recent 34th Malaysian National Bowling Championships…one each in the Men’s and Ladies’ Divisions. For Aaron Kong who hails from Penang, it has been a long overdue win as he has not won a title since winning the Youth Masters Gold medal at the 2008 World Youth Championship held in Orlando, USA.

The 24-yr old bowler has had a rather challenging year after trying to adapt to a new bowling style without much success. By clinching his first National Closed title, he has laid to rest his jinx of finishing in second position at numerous tournaments.

On Saturday, Aaron, who trailed in sixth position after a ten-game Masters Finals roll off, managed to defeat third seed, World Cup representative and former National Champion, Zulmazran Zulkifli with a 2-0 win at the quarter finals round (214-204,269-180). He went on to demolish top seed, two-times National Champion Adrian Ang 2-0 in the semi finals (216-185,237-227) to set up a challenge with Defending Champion, Muhd Shafiq Ridhwan. Nothing was going to stop him from claiming his first National Championship title. He breezed through his challenge with Shafiq with wins of 204-163 and 202-182 in the best of three games format. Aaron pocketed RM 7000 for his win.

National Champions 2010

In the Ladies’ Division, National backup squad member Sin Li Jane had a more challenging path to the top. She had trailed top seed and former National Champion Sharon Koh by only nine pins after a ten-game Masters Finals to finish second on the table. In the quarter finals, she defeated Penang Pesta 2009 Champion Zatil Iman in straight sets of 185-162,195-180 wins to proceed to the semi finals against fifth seed and former National Champion Wendy Chai. She rolled games of 236-214-237 to defeat Wendy who only managed games of 203-222-189 for a 2-1 win over Wendy.

In the Grand Finals round, Li Jane also was stretched to a three-game decider with sixth seed Fatin Syazliana, also a member of the National backup squad. Fatin opened with a 246-218 win over Li Jane, who came back with a 229-207 win over Fatin in the second game. In the final decider, Li Jane stormed home with a 215-175 win to claim her first National Closed Championship title. Li Jane won herself RM3000 prize money.

18-yrs old Li Jane, from Perak, has had some time off to prepare for her SPM exams. She’s happy to have done well this time round as she did not fare well at the recent All Stars and Penang Pesta. Li Jane is hoping that this will be the start of better performances in the year ahead.

Men’s Open final results:

CHAMPION: Aaron Kong
2. Muhd Shafiq Ridhwan
3. Adrian Ang
4. Kelvin Keong
5. Zulmazran Zulkifli
6. Mohd Zaim
7. Muhd Nur Aiman
8. Kang Bo Long

Ladies’ Open final results:

2. Fatin Syazliana
3. Sharon Koh
4. Wendy Chai
5. Nur Syakirah Yeoh
6. Zandra Aziela
7. Zatil Iman
8. Yap Wi Yin

For more detailed scores, visit MTBC official website.

Have a great bowling year ahead.




, , , ,

No Comments